Schedules of Indian Constitution - 12 Schedules of India

There are 12 Schedules in the Constitution of India. One of the first mentions of Schedules was made in the Government of India Act, 1935 where it included 10 Schedules. Later, when the Indian Constitution was adopted in 1949, it consisted of 8 Schedules. Today, with the amendments in the Indian Constitution, there are a total of 12 Schedules.

This article will provide you with a list of Schedules of Indian Constitution, important for the IAS Exam from the perspective of Indian Polity (Mains GS-II).

List of Schedules of Indian Constitution

Schedules in Indian Constitution


Features of Schedules

First Schedule of Indian Constitution

It contains the name of States and Union Territories

Territorial Jurisdiction of states is also included

Second Schedule of Indian Constitution

The provisions in relation to allowances, privileges, emoluments of:

·         President of India

·         Governors of Indian States

·         Speaker of Lok Sabha & Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha

·         Chairman of Rajya Sabha & Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha

·         Speaker and Deputy Speaker of Legislative Assemblies of Indian States

·         Chairman and Deputy Chairman of Legislative Councils of the Indian States

·         Supreme Court Judges

·         High Court Judges

·         Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG)

Third Schedule

It contains the forms of oath and affirmation for:

·         Union Ministers of India

·         Parliament Election Candidates

·         Members of Parliament (MPs)

·         Supreme Court Judges

·         Comptroller and Auditor General

·         State Ministers

·         State Legislature Elections’ Candidates

·         State Legislature Members

·         High Court Judges

Fourth Schedule

It contains the provisions in relation to the allocation of seats for States and Union Territories in the Rajya Sabha

Fifth Schedule

It contains provisions in relation to the administration and control of scheduled areas and scheduled tribes

Sixth Schedule

It contains provisions in relation to the administration of tribal areas in the states of Assam, Meghalaya, Tripura and Mizoram

Seventh Schedule

This schedule deals with the three legislative lists:

·         Union

·         State

·         Concurrent

Eighth Schedule

It deals with the 22 official languages recognized by the Indian Constitution:

·         Assamese

·         Bengali

·         Bodo

·         Dogri (Dongri)

·         Gujarati

·         Hindi

·         Kannada

·         Kashmiri

·         Konkani

·         Mathili (Maithili)

·         Malayalam

·         Manipuri

·         Marathi

·         Nepali

·         Oriya

·         Punjabi

·         Sanskrit

·         Santhali

·         Sindhi

·         Tamil

·         Telugu

·         Urdu

Ninth Schedule

It deals with the state acts and regulations of that deal with land reforms and

abolition of the zamindari system. It also deals with the acts and regulations of the Parliament dealing with other matters.


 1st Amendment Act 1951 added the Ninth Schedule to protect the laws included in it from judicial scrutiny on the ground of violation of Fundamental Fights.

However, in 2007, the Supreme Court ruled that the laws included in this schedule after

 April 24, 1973, are now open to judicial review

Tenth Schedule

It contains provisions relating to disqualification of the members of Parliament and State Legislatures on the ground of defection.


This schedule was added by the 52nd Amendment Act of 1985, also known as Anti-defection Law

Eleventh Schedule

It contains the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Panchayets. It has 29 matters.


This schedule was added by the 73rd Amendment Act of 1992

Twelfth Schedule

It deals with the provisions that specify the powers, authority and responsibilities of Municipalities. It has 18 matters.


This schedule was added

by the 74th Amendment Act of 1992


Since Schedules of Indian Constitution makes an important topic of the Indian Polity subject; aspirants can also check the previous years’ questions asked in GS 2 mains paper. UPSC & WBCS aspirants can also Check the subject-wise questions below:

Ancient history of India MCQ for UPSC

Modern history of India MCQ for UPSC

Medieval history of India MCQ for UPSC

 Geography of India MCQ for UPSC

Schedules of Indian Constitution & Articles

Aspirants should know about the Constitutional Articles related with the Schedules of Indian Constitution. It will give them clarity of concepts and help them understand the chronology of important articles

Schedules of Indian Constitution

Articles of Indian Constitution

First Schedule

Article 1 and Article 4

Second Schedule


·         59

·         65

·         75

·         97

·         125

·         148

·         158

·         164

·         186

·         221

Third Schedule


·         75

·         84

·         99

·         124

·         146

·         173

·         188

·         219

Fourth Schedule

Article 4 and Article 80


Article 244

Six Schedule

Article 244 and Article 275

Seven Schedule

Article 246

Eight Schedule

Article 344 and Article 351

Ninth Schedule

Article 31-B

Tenth Schedule

Article 102 and Article 191

Eleventh Schedule

Article 243-G

Twelfth Schedule

Article 243-W

 The Indian constitution is a highly valuable document for any competitive exam aspirant, particularly those looking to work in the public sector. It defines the various rights and privileges enjoyed by citizens of India. It was drafted after a long period of intense political activity in India, following nearly 30 years of struggle against British colonial rule. The constitution came into effect on January 26, 1950 and is special because it is the world's largest liberal democratic constitution. The document consists of 395 articles which are grouped into 12 Schedules. 

WBCS Questions related to Fundamental Rights of Indian Constitution

Q. Which among the following articles of constitution of India aboslishes the untouchability?

  • Article 15
  • Article 16
  • Article 17
  • Article 28
Answer: Article 16

Q. How many freedoms are guaranteed by article 19 (Right to Freedom)?

  • 5
  • 7
  • 8
  • 6
Answer: 6

Fundamental Rights

 PDF Download Here

Preamble of the constitution

PDF Download Here

Constitutional assembly

PDF Download Here